With a little (LOT) help from my friends…

19 Apr

When I’m having a rough day, I try to remind myself to ‘let it go or be John Lennon…

Today, I’m changing that to ‘let it go or be RINGO!

Yes.  Today, I’m honoring the sheepish Beatle who sings “with a little help from my friends.”  Because I get SO much from them.


For instance, HONESTY.  I love my friends for their honesty.  And, for the latent permission it allows me.  Isn’t that a rub?!

We walk around with such (unfair!) super-human expectations of ourselves and then BAM!  A friend.  A beloved friend comes in and blesses us with vulnerability.  What a gift.

Seriously though.  It is a gift.

Realness.

It goes something like this:  ‘How are you doing?‘  Answer:  SINCERITY.  Truthfully, the answer doesn’t really matter.  It is a conduit.  It is a conduit for listening.  For connections.  For life.

Translation:  It’s probably not– “Okay.” Or, “Fine.”

It is our humanity not our (feigned) ‘normalcy’ that unites us.

What I LOVE about my friends is their bravery.  It inspires me to be real.  Honest.

I’m beginning to think that the point is not to have it ‘together’ but to have the courage to have the life you have.  OUT LOUD.

And, I have my friends to thank for that 🙂

Leave a comment