You have to buy a ticket…

10 Jan

There’s a story a remember.

A man prays and prays to his God.  Everyday.  Please.  Help me.  Help me win the lotto.  Help me win the lotto.  I want to win the lotto.  Help me win the lotto.  I need to win the lotto.  Please.  Help me.  Please help me win the lotto.

Everyday this man prays.  He calls out.  He wants that golden ball.  Or, whatever is the trend in lotto nowadays.

Finally, one day he gets his answer…

His God comes down and says to him:

You need to buy a ticket.

For some reason I love this story.  The sweet sadness of it, perhaps.  Or, the kind reminder of agency.  Sometimes we all need to remember.  To buy our tickets.  To take our chances.  To stop waiting for it to happen to us.

We get to play too.

So play to win.  Or, even better, play to grin.  Either way, I’m thinking…

Be an agent.

Leave a Reply

