Introductions

30 Sep

Are happening all the time.  Or, they can be.  I have a friend who tries to meet one new person a day.  How cool is that!?!

Since I was lucky enough to go away for a yoga training last weekend I had introductions in SPADES.  And, it was interesting which Jamie I brought with me.  To be more honest, it was kind of disappointing.  LAME.

An introduction is a time to tell a story.  Precisely:  A time to tell your story.  Or, more realistically, give someone a blurb.  Which you get to edit…  Hmm.

Now, I fully believe that telling your story is important.  Necessary.  But which stories do you tell?  If our life is a bookshelf, which books do you quote from and which are getting dusty?  Forgotten?  What might you want to write next?

(Dreams are important too.  Your story is not done.  Imagination.  Hope.  Belief in the magic of your future–those stories are meant to be written.  You never have to write yourself off.)

When faced with a room full of strangers, when you get to pick ‘yourself,’ when the ground is new, what do you say?  Who are you?  What’s your introduction?

Do you explain what you do?  Does that serve you?  Do you believe your work is indicative of your capacity as a person?  Do you believe it reflects your values?

Yeah.  Thought so…

Do you talk about ‘what happened to you?’  Do you let yourself be victimized by change or circumstance?  Someone other person’s words or decisions?  Are you still playing out a scratchy record that (no one wants to hear because it) does not serve you?  Not when you can change it.

Yeah.  Thought so…

Do you talk about the things that make you smile?  The people in your life?

Do you listen?

Are you honest.

With you.

When you introduce yourself, who are you?

Hi.  I’m Jamie.  I believe that making things better for one makes things better for everyone.  Sometimes, that’s all I can do.  (Sometimes I overdo this :P.)  I’ve worked really hard to learn to make things better for myself.  I know that that makes things better for everyone too.  And, I know kindness matters.  So does smiling. 

Who are you?

Leave a Reply

