Another reason to love broccoli

21 Jul

When I was a little girl I did not go for the green.  It was bad.  I much preferred to eat marshmallow fluff by the spoonful.  (My undernourishment might have had something to do with this chronic sugar habit…  Although, I still like my fluff!)  I remember my mother literally squeaking ‘It’s good’ to try to get me to eat broccoli.  My brothers like to remind us of this too.  Lucky, I’ve definitely come around!

Proof:

Like Candy Broccoli

Toss a hacked up head of broccoli on a sheet pan  w/ substantial drizzle of good olive oil + 2 T sun-dried tomatoes (oil-packed)+ 1/2 pint split grape tomatoes + 1 t kosher salt +1/2 t pepper.  Roast at 350 for 25-35 minutes.  Toss midway through the roasting process.  Remove from oven and add feta and olives to taste. 

DELIGHT!

Except for the time I ATE THE WHOLE TRAY to prove a point to M.  Um.  Don’t do this.  Or, do.  And, let me know what your colon thinks.  Mine certainly did.  For about 36 hours!!!!

Now.  Besides embarrassing myself, there is a point to this post.  YOUR HEALTH.  I do not like reporting on ‘diet’ing stuff, but there is a study out of Harvard that reflects the importance of fruits and veggies, sleep, WHOLE grains, nuts, yogurt, physical activity, and LIMITED television on health promotion and weight stabilization.  The study says that it would be best to cut out the refined, processed food stuff and the potato-centric meal, since it appears that metabolically a calorie is not just a calorie.  The New York Times does a nice brief of this study too, here, if you want more details…

By following these recommendations, the authors surmise that you have the best chance at achieving a stable, healthy weight over your lifetime. This means you get to continue to live the life you have (and presumably want), and that you can potentially avoid future medical risks and health related complications that are correlated with large weight increases.

The underlying issue cited (that the study addresses) is our propensity for adult onset weight gain; as we age there appears to be gradual weight spiral that seems to only slope up.  Then you wake up in thirty years and you’ve added double that number in pounds.  Now you (potentially) have REAL health risks.  That’s the medical correlation that has been endlessly reported.

But.  Going Eating green helps.  We’ve got real data.  (Thanks Harvard!)

So, eat (too much of) my broccoli and tell me about it! 😛

Leave a Reply

