Without a crisis…

9 Jun

Too bad this was only part of a sentence I read.  Hmpf.  Still, I really liked this piece I read in the NY Times yesterday.  I think it’s important.  Majorly important.

Or, maybe I’ve just turned into an Ithaca hippie…

If you didn’t read the article in the link (or even if you did), here are my thoughts.  The piece is a Friedman article called:  The Earth is Full.

First off, the full sentence from my title post.  The full sentence is:

“We will not change systems, though, without a crisis. But don’t worry, we’re getting there.” 

Um.  Yikes.  And, yes.  Unfortunately, I seen this to be true.  Again.  And again.  And, again.  Now, I’m not talking about a global economy, nor am I talking about the state of our climate, I’m not even talking about how much it costs to fill up my little (newly repaired!) Ford Focus ($45 – if you were wondering… !!!), I just know that change is seldom initiated without major disruption.  We like the illusion of control.  Or at least we like to know what’s coming…

I know I do 😦

Case and point:  I was talking with M. the other day and he pointed out to me how I only like to change things when they are bad.  I do not like to adjust things or take risks when things are basically working.

I thought:  Shit.  He has a point.

His point seemed oddly in line with Mr. Friedman’s.  (Baring in mind of course that my life is not the teetering global economy or zany climate.  I’m just a silly girl…)  We do not want to change until we are compelled to by the negative.  Big sigh.  For all of us…

I wonder:  When did change become dirty?  Methinks it has to do with fear… Maybe fear of a worse off?  And, so we / the situation / life stays the same.

Or, perhaps we do not change to cling to naive rules, myopic wants, and (in effect) limited responsibility?  Is that not latently what Friedman asserts?

When is wisdom going to become trendy again?

Still, there is hope!  My favorite :).  Crisis (or not?) we can to grow into something better.  I know this to be true.  We can grow into something more adjusted.  Something that takes care.  Of us and each other.

Here’s Friedman’s version:

We will realize, [author Paul Gilding] predicts, that the consumer-driven growth model is broken and we have to move to a more happiness-driven growth model, based on people working less and owning less. “How many people,” Gilding asks, “lie on their death bed and say, ‘I wish I had worked harder or built more shareholder value,’ and how many say, ‘I wish I had gone to more ballgames, read more books to my kids, taken more walks?’ To do that, you need a growth model based on giving people more time to enjoy life, but with less stuff.”

Sounds utopian? Gilding insists he is a realist.

“We are heading for a crisis-driven choice,” he says. “We either allow collapse to overtake us or develop a new sustainable economic model. We will choose the latter. We may be slow, but we’re not stupid.”

Slow but not stupid.  Hmmm…

But crisis ultimately averted?!

I can deal with that 🙂

2 Responses to “Without a crisis…”

  1. AL June 9, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    >>I only like to change things when they are bad. I do not like to adjust things or take risks when things are basically working.<>We like the illusion of control. <>I’m just a silly girl…<< Fear to change?
    I see you as a brilliant, world class athlete…. a woman, not a girl.

    What if you were rewarded every time you chose a goal or challenge, and achieve them? What inner reward is needed for yourself to be motivated? Do you reward yourself for the things you do?? Think you might start to look for challenges (and it quickly becomes habit) because your inner reward is so good?

    • Jamie June 9, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

      Do you think I’m my dad’s girl? Hehe 😛 Thanks Daddy!

Leave a Reply

