Training

14 Apr

We’ve got 24 hours a day.  Chances are you spend at least 12 of them (semi) bright-eyed.  This is fertile ground.

What are you training?

I only thought of this analogy after a discussion at work the other night.  I had a harrowing conversation that went something like this:

Me:  How old are you now?

“7”:  I’m 34.

Me:  And, how long have you been using eating symptoms to speak, make your world smaller, and manage emotions?

“7”:  Since I was 13.

Me:  So, you’ve been ‘training’ in the disorder for 21 years?

“7”:  Fuck.  I’m legal.

Me:  Legal.  And, an athlete at this stuff.  Think about that.  You’ve trained this into your body.  Olympic training time-line lady…  In fact, what if it’s almost not a choice but a honed ‘skill’?  Can you see the way you may feel inclined or automated to respond to certain situations with your ‘trained’ ED behaviors?  It’s what you’ve weaned your body to know.

BUT, it doesn’t have to be that way…

And, that’s why my students hate 😉 me as a coach.  I’ll do that to your crossovers too :P.

Now, we already talked about HABITS and how they are nasty, fruitful buggers.  They let me realize that I can grow.  And, they show me where I have become complacent or just accepted the status quo.  Through this we’ve also examined life as a series of habits.

This way of living is an option.

But not with me.

I know there is MORE.  (It’s called hard, magical, ALIVE.)  Our narrative is not always our life.  And, pure realism is for fops.

I believe in you.

Still, I’ll be gentle.  I’m not that Russian ;).

First, acknowledge your work.  Look at what you’ve done and look at what is going on.  No matter what has happened or what you find yourself presently habituated to, take stock.

Good for you.

You just grew.  Up.  And now, you’ve seen what you’ve been training.

I am currently an athlete at over-booking my days.  From skating to scheduling!  (But I LOVE what I do–she justified!!!)

It’s a process…

I’m a good friend too :).

And now, you can see, we are back to kindness.  We do not need to dwell on / bemoan where we are at or what habits we have ‘trained.’  Yes, we’ve all been training something.  And now, we’ve acknowledged it.  We’ve discovered we are all an athlete at something…  (On that note, do you think they give medals in peanut butter sampling?  I’ve got that down too 🙂 )  Wahoo!

Now, we get to empower ourselves.  Choice.  Sweat.  Repetition.

We can do new OR different work.  On to TRAINING!…

Repeat.  Repeat.  Repeat.  Repeat.

That’s the ‘athlete’ part.  You can add tunes or parachutes (Marina is GRINNING) or friends or incentives–anything really, just keep going.

You will change.  Enlist a witness or two…  Maybe a short girl with a BIG voice and smile…

  The smile only gets BIGGER…

And, stay gentle.  (She shouted!!! 😉 )  Especially, if you are looking to re-train yourself or break an ‘Olympic habit.’  Keep this in mind:  “Even long after vanquishing an old bad habit, it’s not entirely erased from the brain—on a biological level, the connections are still there. Continued ‘booster shots’ of treatment or reevaluation may be necessary months or even years after stopping.”  (Source)

So, grab a notebook, a coach, a friend, a therapist, a JAMIE?!!, and watch.  Correct.  (Re)learn.  TRAIN.

Remember:

Be gentle my life athletes.  Train the kind way.  The body responds much better this way.  For the long haul… ❤

Yes.

YOU can.

What kind of lifestyle do you want to (re)train for?



2 Responses to “Training”

  1. Phillip Kommer April 15, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    I just wanted to say, I honestly enjoyed your blog post and I added your link to my wordpress blog today as a recommended site. This is the blog I was finding for! Thanks

    • Jamie April 19, 2011 at 1:17 am #

      Thanks for the feedback! Have a sweet day. You brightened mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

