Parkour

7 Apr

I’ve been playing.  In many facets of my life.  To quote Jim from The Office:  “It’s pretty impressive. The goal is to get from point A to point B as creatively as possible so technically they are doing parkour, as long as point A is delusion and point B is the hospital.”  (Source)

Yeah.  Funny!  Funny?  Good thing that’s not the ‘official’ Parkour.  Although, I’ve done that too…

This will (may?) make more sense in a second.  Read on. 😛

True Story:  My father called me “retarded” the other night.  He went on to explain how he meant “no offense” and that I was just “socially retarded.” He thinks that my skating trajectory shifted my development in certain vectors and blunted it in others.  (Um- Duh?!  One cannot live in an ice rink and grow a full cornucopia.  Not enough Vitamin D…)

My father then went on to road-map my entire life, as he saw it.  Outside looking in.  Igor.  Justin.  Fairytales.  My mother?!!  My ex-boyfriends.  Sex.  Eating Disorders.  Death.  Ithaca.  “You’re AWESOME!”

Disturbingly blunt.

My father would be an awful (or great!) tour guide; “On your left is the wreckage of my admittedly failed adolescent parenting and to your right is my misguided attempt at fatherhood now.  Please keep you hands inside the boat guy.”  (My father also calls everyone ‘guy’ but I digress.)

Still, he may have had a point.  It’s valid information.  It’s just my father has a way with words…

I felt myself starting to get angry when he mention the retardation thing for the THIRD time, but then I took an (forced) exhale and I leaned in. 

Why stop myself more?

Plus, I remembered I had just ‘played’ Parkour with V. at a playground this weekend.  (SYNCHRONICITY <3)

Maybe, I am retarded ;P.

(Apologies, yes, I know this clip is poor quality but the alternate had commercials.  Lame.)

But, I am in good company!

Oh– And, in case you are wondering, Parkour is actually a way to swiftly and efficiently traverse your surroundings “based around the concept of self-preservation and the ability to help others.”  (Source)

In that light, I’m totally down with a little Parkour-ing.

It sounds like a great life (or father ;)) strategy!

Thanks Daddy.

2 Responses to “Parkour”

  1. danielle May 4, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    real parkour: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ivbOMXDRb8E

    did you know it is a SPORT?

    • Jamie May 5, 2011 at 10:07 am #

      I did not. RAD! Maybe I’ll make another Olympic bid 😛

Leave a Reply

