Freedom

5 Apr

What is it?

We’ve got it.  We fight for it.  Do heinous things for it.  And, yet do we know it?  Do we appreciate it?

Do you live your freedom?

I got to thinking about freedom after watching this:  (Be warned.  It’s a long one…  I’ll address other aspects in different posts.  For our purposes you can skip to 6:30 if you are rushed…)

What does freedom mean to you?

I like this question because I did not know how to answer.  No clue.  Thus, I knew it mattered.  Then, I ran about it :).

Here are my thoughts.  They are two-fold:

Freedom is a reminder that I am not a victim.  Always.  I can always find freedom.  Now, maybe this is my naive, idealism poking through.  Or, maybe not.  I get that the world is loss and horror sometimes.  And, then I cry.

Still, I believe that freedom does not have to only live out there.  There is an innate experience of my freedom which is up to me.  Freedom is me choosing my (re)action.  Every moment.

Cue Victor Frankl and ‘Man’s Search For Meaning‘–  Mr. Frankl survived the concentration camps and went on to develop Logotherapy as an answer to why, when stripped of dignity and expressions of humanity, people could still find love, freedom and the will to live.  He asserts:

It did not really matter what we expected from life, but rather what life expected from us. We needed to stop asking about the meaning of life, and instead to think of ourselves as those who were being questioned by life – daily and hourly. Our answer must consist not in talk and meditation, but in right action and in right conduct. Life ultimately means taking the responsibility to find the right answer to its problems and to fulfill the tasks which it constantly sets for each individual.

Following, freedom is living and engaging in a way that promotes openness and shuns barriers.  Both within and far out.  For me, that means I challenge.  I challenge myself and I challenge the people who matter.  (We ALL matter.)  To break… through.  I work hard so that no people feel entrapped because of my behaviors.

It also means I forgive.  Always.  The self is the hardest part…

Set your world free.

Freedom is our best capacity.  Doing it.  Living it.  I am learning to.

Freedom is respect for me and affirmation of life.

The secret of happiness is freedom. The secret of freedom is courage.” –Thucydides

(Resources)

3 Responses to “Freedom”

  1. m April 5, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Another interesting question: are you motivated by fear or by love?

    • Jamie April 6, 2011 at 12:48 am #

      That post is already in the works! Has been for a while… Great minds ;P

  2. Bali Villa May 4, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Ne’er knew this, thanks for letting me know.

Leave a Reply

