Pie!

27 Mar

And, charts.  And, diagrams.  I love the things we learned in math that a calculator can’t do.

And, I love re-appropriating them.

In fact, I too often find myself telling my friends my ‘pie’ theory of a life in balance.  (And, no, it does not involve eating copious amounts of pie but that could be added… :P)

You want life pie?  Well, that would be gross and unethical.  But, life as delicious as pie that I’m down for.

First, to make said pie, you’ve got to decide what type of pie you are making.  In other words, what things do you want in your life?   Decide what each ‘slice’ is going to be filled with (friends, careers, exercise, tomfoolery…) by listing the things that are important to you.   Then, decide (ideally) how you want to slice it.  Now, draw it out.  Circle and slices.

Use markers if you wish.  Scented ones :P!  (Is creativity one of your pie pieces?  Then, use glitter too!)  It does not have to be sliced evenly.  It’s your life to slice!

Yum.

Then, make a second pie.  An honest pie.  A ‘my reality’ pie.  Slice this one exactly as things are being cut now.  Include everything.

Now check in:  does you ideal pie match with your ‘my reality’ pie?  Where are things different?  Did you mean for house work / that job / complaining / those habits to be such a HUGE slice?  Where is the self-care slice?

Yeah.  I thought so.

So, now you can see it.  Drawn out.  And, you have the option to get to the kitchen.  Take that (metaphorical) knife back into your own hands!

Or, at the very least I’ve made you hungry

And now a treat!

Given my aforementioned love of whimsically used mathematic tools, you can imagine my delight when I saw this on XKCD:

It’s a Venn diagram which might even be cooler than a simple pie chart!  And, it speaks to our global love of V.I.

Haters need not respond.

2 Responses to “Pie!”

  1. danielle March 28, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    i love you,
    you’re hilarious

    and i’m totally doing this exercise later 🙂

    • Jamie March 28, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

      Thanks dear! Be sure to use glitter 😛

Leave a Reply

