Foot Feedback

17 Mar

Foot.

In my mouth.

It’s a good thing I’m flexible.  😛

Unfortunately, that seems to be how my life goes sometimes.  Peaceful communication efforts hopelessly plummet into ‘pardon?’ and ‘what the !?!’.

I should have known better.  They did tell me so.

And, I even read about it!  I should have known.

Feedback is hard.  I still remember Igor shouting at me one day, in his oh so subtle way:  “Are you stupid or deaf?”  Um.  Is there a third option?  Can we talk about it?  Explain it perhaps?

I think I cried at the time…

But.  I’m not sorry.  As the posted article (link!) notes:  “Negative feedback is essential for negotiating life and social relations. Despite the feel-good mantra of current self-improvement manuals, much of our growth and development depends on interactions and other experiences that feel bad. Criticism has a hallowed role in nearly every area of human endeavor.”

Igor sure as hell made me a better skater.  Maybe the third option was latent strength of mind.

I am strong enough to know I am not either of his enraged options.

Still, I was ready (and paying) for Igor.  Thus, tread lightly my friends noting:  “[i]t’s important to recognize that it’s human nature not to want unsolicited negative advice …. We don’t want people to tell us something negative unless we ask for it and are ready to hear it.”

That is how you get the taste of feet.  In your mouth.

And, I wasn’t even giving advice.  Just sticking up for myself.  Using my voice…

And, so it goes.

Still, I have a sense of humor about it.  I’ve earned it.  Or, just returned to it. 😛

On that note, here’s a blast from Grade One.  Thanks A!

First  Grade Drawing – PRICELESS!

A  first grade girl handed in the drawing below for  her homework assignment.

The  teacher graded it and the child brought it home.

She returned to school the next day with  the following note:

Dear Ms. Davis,

I want to be perfectly clear on my  child’s homework illustration.
It is NOT of  me on a dance pole on a stage in a strip joint  surrounded by male customers with money.
I  work at Home Depot and had commented to my  daughter how much money we made in the recent  snowstorm.
This drawing is of me selling  a shovel.

Get some laughter feedback? 🙂

2 Responses to “Foot Feedback”

  1. danielle March 17, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    YOU ARE HILARIOUS. I laughed out loud when I read this! I can completely relate.
    “Are you stupid, or deaf?”
    I can’t even tell you how many times I thought, “uhhhh there’s gotta be a third option here.” (I have many similar stories of the “subtle” criticisms of my russian coach :p) Usually I kept my mouth shut and let my ego take the beating, but one day I did say it out loud… super sarcastically… and he walked off the ice. I don’t know how effective I was at using my voice, but it felt pretty good to stand up for myself in the moment.

    🙂
    Thanks for the smile.

    • Jamie March 17, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

      Thanks for the feedback :P! When I noted the irony of being deaf one time- well that did not go over so well. Maybe that will be a different post… I learned so much more than skating from those Russians. So much about me. It’s pretty cool. Have a sweet day!

Leave a Reply

