Run Jamie Run?

8 Mar

Yup.  I’ve been doing a bunch of it lately. Hit my ears up with some Gle and I’m a dancing fool on a treadmill.   Literally.  It looks odd.  I’ve gotten stares.

But.

Do I want to be a runner?

2 or 3 miles is fine.  Great even.  I have even been known to spout out the occasional 4+miles on a ‘my mind said what / he did what’ kind of day.  But is a 1/2 marathon in the mix for me?  Hmmm…

Now running has previous been a torture for me.  When skating, we did sprints to the whiff of vodka in the air at Spring (psycho) Russian training camp.  We earned injuries like medals.  Running was an implement but not a release.  And then, running was a getaway activity :P.

Later, I got ‘cute’ lady bits.  (Come on now– I won’t ever be a bunny but they are still there!)  Running made me feel feminine.  And, not in the good way.  There was (re)adjustment.  Corseting.  I recommend lululemon.  But, I was also working for a studio where I got a killer discount…

But.

Now, something has changed.  Running is a release.  It’s a meditation.  It’s my connection with my body in flow.  We were meant to move.

Maybe even for 13.1 miles…?

I’m certainly thinking about it.  And, I even found this seemingly manageable training plan.

Wish me luck!

2 Responses to “Run Jamie Run?”

  1. bearrunner March 8, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Running is grand isn’t it? 3 miles is better then what most are doing… A runners a runner regardless of the distance they cover

    cheers

    • Jamie March 8, 2011 at 9:59 am #

      Yes. I’ve really taken to it. And, I like your perspective. It feels SO good to move energy.

Leave a Reply

