Confession

1 Mar

I ate a whole salami the other night.  Pause.  That sounds gross.

Pause.

It was.

And, it makes me sad.  I have not done something like that for so long…

Now, I am not confessing because I internally offended my prepubescent pseudo religious sensibilities.  (Frankly, I feel like the Man(?!) is probably okay with pork… Otherwise, there are going to be a TON of angry Italians.)  I am confessing because I am not listening.

I am not listening to me.

Now, that is a problem.

I know that this is ‘normal’–  for people to avoid things, emotions, relationships, their self-destructive mechanisms.  And, I know that the honesty, gut-wrenching, what do I NEED?! alternative can feel like a wool (not yummy smart wool) sweater. 

‘Having needs:  warm, protective, and, still somehow, itchy as hell.’

(And, we wonder why the marketing of our emotional fulfillment never quite took off :P…)

But still.

Affirming your needs makes life real.  And.  Full of love and opportunities to be seen.

And, when we are seen and accepted we know compassion.  We know love.

We can always start with ourselves. New research states:  “Self-compassion is really conducive to motivation, …  With self-compassion, if you care about yourself, you do what’s healthy for you rather than what’s harmful to you.”

And so.  I am confessing.  My salami.

Take care of me.  😉

2 Responses to “Confession”

  1. bearrunner March 8, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    It’s like Lay’s Potato chips… I bet you can’t just eat one

    • Jamie March 8, 2011 at 9:58 am #

      Ha! I’m actually more of a sweet girl myself. But, if there is dip involved… :p

Leave a Reply

