You say basil, I say…

27 Feb

AMAZING!

There are a couple of recipes I come back to.  Correct that.  There are a couple of recipes people make me come back to.  One of them is PESTO.  Turns out I make a mean green sauce :).

I like especially like to put in in egg scrambles w/ cheese and tomatoes (YUM!) or on pizza.  But you can do with it what you wish…

(It’s good on a spoon too.  I’m just saying.)

And, remember, this recipe is just a sketch!  Please feel free to substitute cheeses and nuts with relish :p.  Well, not actual relish but you get me- haha!

Basil “AMAZING” Pesto

Inspired by Ina Garten

Ingredients

(Image Source)

  • 1/3 cup walnuts – toasted
  • 1/3 cup pine nuts – toasted
  • 12+ cloves garlic SMASHED – I know! I know :p
  • Basil – Enough to fill a blender 2/3 full (about 6 cups)
  • 1.5 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1.5 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 – 1 + 3/4 cups good extra virgin olive oil – (Oil amount will change depending upon if you want a loose or tighter spread)
  • 1 1/4 cup Parmesan Cheese – The good stuff please!!

Directions

Place the walnuts, pine nuts, and garlic in the blender (or food processor if you have one– alas, I don’t!) with a tablespoon of olive oil. Blend until you’ve made a delicious CHUNKY garlic, nut-butter paste. Add the basil, salt, and pepper. Continue to blend as you slowly pour the olive oil into the mixture.  You WILL have to stop a few times and stir / mix.  DO NOT do this with the blender running.  (I know it is very tempting.  But, please trust me—I broke a blender by ‘jabbing’ the pesto mix in this fashion.  MAJOR whoops!)  Blend until all basil is shredded and you have a pesto sauce!  This will probably take 3-5 minutes.  Lastly, add the Parmesan and mix.  IT’S DONE 🙂 .

You WILL become an herby hero.  Be prepared to sweat garlic.

And, feed this to your lover—just so that you can eat MORE too!  😛

Leave a Reply

