Candyland

16 Feb

If only it existed.  Paging Willy Wonka?

Seriously though, I was playing it at a bar last night, (– yes, I’m that cool :p), and I was FLOORED by the redesigned.  Candyland is now not only making a somewhat laughable attempt to seem racially and ethnically aware

(Check out the ‘diverse’ child players on the bottom left from my Candyland board),

but they made Princess Frostine HYPER-sexualized and weird-looking!

Seriously.

Maybe it’s just because she’s on skates that I take such offense.  Maybe it’s because I’m a woman.  Maybe it’s because I’m not the audience for this product.  Check out her evolution:

Here is one of just her:

She’s been shrunk.  She’s been bent.  She’s been given disproportionately small feet.

My pretty princess.

2 Responses to “Candyland”

  1. danielle February 16, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    wow.
    best blog post ever. (i especially like the link at the end – infuriating!)
    i think a letter to (hasbro?) game maker is in order.
    what an OUTRAGE!

    thanks for the laugh 🙂

  2. katie February 16, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    I have always equated ice skates with foot binding… 🙂

Leave a Reply

