Remind me why…

10 Feb

We stopped reading poetry?

Okay.  Now I know this one is melancholy (and, thus, maybe I am answering my question above), but here is a Sylvia Plath for beauty and nourishment:

Mirror

I am silver and exact. I have no preconceptions.
What ever you see I swallow immediately
Just as it is, unmisted by love or dislike.
I am not cruel, only truthful—
The eye of a little god, four-cornered.
Most of the time I meditate on the opposite wall.
It is pink, with speckles. I have looked at it so long
I think it is a part of my heart. But it flickers.
Faces and darkness separate us over and over.
Now I am a lake. A woman bends over me,
Searching my reaches for what she really is.
Then she turns to those liars, the candles or the moon.
I see her back, and reflect it faithfully.
She rewards me with tears and an agitation of hands.
I am important to her. She comes and goes.
Each morning it is her face that replaces the darkness.
In me she has drowned a young girl, and in me an old woman
Rises toward her day after day, like a terrible fish.

Thoughts?  Who are you reading right now?

And, a BIG 🙂 will go to the person who knows where: “(I think I made you up inside my head.)” comes from.

4 Responses to “Remind me why…”

  1. danielle February 10, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    I read plenty of poetry!
    I love it because

    When I shut my eyes all the world drops dead….

  2. danielle February 10, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    I always read poetry!
    (at bedtime)
    because!
    “I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead”

    HOW WAS THAT FOR AN AMAZING SEGUE?!!?

    • Jamie February 10, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

      Good one! But do you know where it’s from :p ?

  3. danielle February 10, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    whoops, I didn’t think my first one commented :p
    Hmmmmm, well I think it’s from Mad Girl’s Love Poem (I think that’s the name of it?)
    I only remember that one stanza –
    I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead;
    I lift my lids and all is born again.
    (I think I made you up inside my head.)

    Also – did you ever read Bell Jar? It’s on my list but I haven’t gotten to it yet…

Leave a Reply

