Good Morning!

26 Jan

Okay.  Technically, I haven’t slept yet.  But.  I will.  And, then it will be a good morning.

Because, I’ll start it off with this:

PEANUT BUTTER COOKIE OATMEAL

When I was I skater, I started my morning with a bowl (okay sometimes just a few bites…) of oatmeal.  A lot has changed, but I still love my oats.  And I’ve gotten better at cooking them!  This is one of my favorite recipes to start my morning with sustaining tummy love, an oatmeal keeper!

Ingredients:
1/2 cup rolled oats
1 cup low-fat milk (organic or non-dairy)
1/2 banana, sliced thin (enjoy the rest while cooking!)
1 1/2 tbs chia seeds (optional but SO good!)
2-3 tbs peanut butter (or your favorite nut butter)
Pinch of salt
Splash of vanilla
Cinnamon, to taste
Honey/Agave Nectar, to taste
Directions:
Add oats, milk, banana, chia seeds and salt in pot.  Bring to a boil, then simmer over medium heat. Stir/whip the entire time until the liquid is absorbed to your liking. Notice the bananas melting away. This is a great, creamy, delicious thing!  Turn off the heat.  Whip in vanilla, cinnamon and peanut butter / nut butter until combined.  Drizzle with sweetness to taste.  Add toppings (suggested below)  for MORE fun, nutrition and flavor.  Dive in! 

Toppings of Joy: Stir in dried fruit (cherries- I miss you Matt S.!), fresh fruit, nuts/seeds, nut butters, cottage cheese/ricotta (off the heat), pumpkin, chocolate!!, cocoa or granola.  Meditate on what else you can add.  ENJOY COMPLETELY.
Feel yourself taking care.  Of you.  Have a beautiful day 🙂
One Response to “Good Morning!”

  1. danielle January 26, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    You’re adorable. This made me laugh. And while that is FAR more work than I have EVER put into making a meal, it does sound tempting….
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

